---
title: Scenario version control
slug: scenario-version-control
description: Learn how to save, restore, and recover scenario versions in the Scenario Builder. 
image: https://archbee-image-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/oAyFj2GHlBeBVWF5OAir2/s6sx-z3eC6pkf8y3MKKwJ_domino-zoomin-purple-a-1.png
docTags: 
createdAt: 2025-02-03T13:29:15.599Z
---

When you work on scenarios, changes don't always go as planned. You might need to undo edits, return to a working state, or troubleshoot after updates. You can use these version control features in the Scenario Builder:

- **Save a version** to save a version of a scenario with a description
- **Version history** to review and restore previously saved versions
- **Scenario recovery** to retrieve unsaved changes after unexpected session interruptions

These features help you build, edit, and maintain your scenarios.

## When to use version control

Save a version of your scenario in these cases:

- **Building or expanding a scenario**

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
When you create or modify a scenario, you might experiment with different routing logic, modules, filters, or mappings. Save a baseline version before you experiment. You can then test changes safely and revert if something doesn't work.
:::

- **Fixing a broken automation after changes**

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
Updates to modules, filters, or mappings can cause a scenario to stop working or produce incorrect results. This is particularly important if the scenario supports critical business processes. Restore a version from when the scenario worked correctly to fix the problem quickly, then investigate the cause later.
:::

- **Rolling back unwanted changes**

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
Save versions regularly so you can restore a previous state if you accidentally delete a module, filter, or tool, or change module settings or mappings.
:::

- **Working in a team**

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
When multiple team members work on the same scenario, different users can save changes. **Version history** shows who made updates and what changed, so you can restore a previous version if needed.
:::

## Save a version

You can save a version of a scenario with a description, and find it later in **Version history**.&#x20;

To save a version:&#x20;

:::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Open a scenario.
:::

::::WorkflowBlockItem
In the toolbar, click the arrow next to **Save** and select **Save a version**.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/oAyFj2GHlBeBVWF5OAir2/t6wpZ2V06HVqrMLiSLAwg_image.png" size="70" isUploading="false" width="784" height="516" darkWidth="784" darkHeight="516" showCaption="false"}

:::hint{type="info"}
Alternatively, press `Ctrl` + `Shift` + `S` (Windows) or `Cmd` + `Shift` + `S` (Mac).
:::
::::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the **Version description** field, enter a description. This step is optional, but recommended if you want to easily identify the version later.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Save version**.
:::
:::::

Make stores each saved version for 60 days, except the latest version, which it keeps until you save a newer one.

You can find saved versions in **Version history&#x20;**&#x69;n the toolbar.

## Edit a version description

To change the description of a saved version:

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Open a scenario.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the **Version** field, select the version.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/oAyFj2GHlBeBVWF5OAir2/LewuYZca23oeEnUShU92x_image.png)
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the **Version** field, select the version.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click the pencil icon next to the description.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Edit the description, then confirm.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Cancel** to close, or click **Restore version** to also restore the version.
:::
::::

You've now updated the version description.

## Restore a version&#x20;

Use **Version history** to access and restore saved scenario versions. Each version in the list shows its description, the name of the user who saved it, and the date and time.

To restore a saved version of your scenario:

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Open a scenario.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the toolbar, click the **Version history** icon.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the **Version** field, select the version you want to restore.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Restore version**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the toolbar, click **Save** to save the scenario with the restored version.
:::
::::

You've now restored a previous version of your scenario.

:::hint{type="warning"}
Make doesn't save the restored version automatically. After you restore a version, save the scenario manually to keep it, as described in step 5.
:::

## Recover a scenario

Scenario recovery retrieves unsaved changes to a scenario from a blueprint that Make saves automatically in the background while you work in the Scenario Builder.

### When to recover scenarios

Recover a scenario to retrieve changes you didn't save manually after an unexpected session interruption, such as a browser crash, an internet disconnect, a power outage, or an accidentally closed tab.

When you reopen a scenario, Make compares the latest automatically saved blueprint with the latest manually saved version. If they differ, Make prompts you to recover the most recent changes.

:::hint{type="warning"}
Scenario recovery is not an autosave feature. It only retrieves unsaved changes after a session interruption. After you recover the changes, you must save the scenario manually.
:::

### Retrieve unsaved changes from a blueprint

To retrieve unsaved changes from an automatically saved blueprint:

:::::WorkflowBlock
::::WorkflowBlockItem
Open a scenario.

:::hint{type="info"}
If the scenario is new and you never saved it, click **+Create scenario**.
:::
::::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
If  Make detects unsaved changes, the **Recover unsaved changes?** dialog appears with:

- A list of changes
- A scenario preview
- The date of the latest blueprint version
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Recover**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
A **Changes recovered** message appears in the bottom-right corner.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the message, click **Save scenario**, or click **Save** in the toolbar, to keep the recovered changes.
:::
:::::

You've now recovered and saved your unsaved changes. The recovered scenario appears in **Version history**.

### Restore a recovered scenario from Version history

:::hint{type="warning"}
If you close the **Recover unsaved changes?** dialog or click **Not now**:

- The recovered blueprint stays in **Version history** temporarily.
- Make permanently deletes it when you manually save a new scenario version.

If you continue editing without saving the recovered scenario and another interruption occurs, a new blueprint overwrites the previous one.

To avoid losing your changes, recover and save the scenario as soon as you reopen it.
:::

To restore a recovered version from **Version history**:

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the toolbar, click the **Version history** icon.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the **Version** field, select the latest version marked **Recovered**.



::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/oAyFj2GHlBeBVWF5OAir2/EYssizqfhOfsLXv7OUzao-20260316-154234.png" size="70" width="1059" height="771" isUploading="false" darkWidth="1059" darkHeight="771" showCaption="false"}
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Restore version**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the toolbar, click **Save** to save the scenario from the recovered version.
:::
::::

You've now restored and saved the recovered version. You can find it in **Version history**.

:::hint{type="warning"}
Save the scenario after you restore a recovered version. Otherwise, you lose the recovered changes.
:::

