---
title: Team edit permission removed from Team Member role
slug: team-edit-permission-removed-from-team-member-role
description: Starting August 2, 2026, Team Members in public environments can no longer rename teams unless assigned the Admin role; private environments remain unchanged.
docTags: 2PhNMll2pynOxQSFeuETM
createdAt: 2026-07-03T11:20:24.136Z
---

The team edit permission is being removed from the default **Team Member** role in public environments. After **August 2, 2026**, users with the **Team Member** role will no longer be able to rename teams. This change does not apply to private environments.

### What changed

The default **Team Member** role currently has the team edit permission, which allows users to edit a team. Currently, the "Edit teams" permission only allows users to change the team name. After this change, team members will no longer be able to edit teams.&#x20;

**This change applies to public environments only.** Existing private environments will not be affected.

This change will take effect on August 2, 2026.

### What you need to do

If you need specific users to retain this ability, assign them the **Admin** role.
